Awards Night

Awards Night was held in St. Paul’s Community College on Tuesday night 10th May. The ceremony this year was held in the more spacious Sports Hall and included music by Ms Minchen’s Choir. Students and parents enjoyed the night and candles on a big birthday cake were blown out in honour of it being the school’s 40th Anniversary. Dignitaries on the night included Guest Speaker Mr Graham Doyle Chief Executive with the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport and former Director of Waterford Airport and of course a former student of St. Paul’s Community College. Other guests included Mr Kevin Lewis, CEO of Waterford and Wexford Education Training Board, Andy Crowley, Teva and BOM, Ms Anne Curran former Principal and BOM, Lola O’Sullivan, BOM, Sharon Walsh, Waterford SCP, Eamonn Flynn EWO, Jim Maher and Elaine Rohan WWETB, Ms Lynda O’Shea BOM and Cllr Cha O’Neill BOM. All were welcomed by school Principal Ms Reilly and Deputy Principal Mr John Keane and by the Master of Ceremonies on the night, Mr Philip Murphy who teaches business in St. Paul’s. An award was also made by Ms Reilly to teacher Mr Ger Lohan in recognition for his work in having St. Paul’s being the only school in Ireland selected to represent Ireland at the Somme Commemoration Ceremony in France on July 1st 2016 to commemorate all the Irish soldiers killed in the Battle of the Somme. Congratulations to all the students who received awards on the night, to the Parents Council who served the refreshments and a special thanks to Jennifer for all the work in making the night happen through all her organisational work. Thanks to everybody involved in and who supported the night and to Ms Minchin and her choir for the lovely music and to Ms Barron, Home Economics teacher and her trusty band of helpers who prepared food for the pre-ceremony reception in the school library. Photos and report will be published in the local News and Star over the coming weeks.

Some Photos on Awards Night

DSC00224 DSC00225

DSC00226   DSC00234

DSC00235 DSC00237

DSC00238 DSC00239

DSC00240 DSC00241

DSC00242 DSC00243

DSC00244 DSC00245

DSC00246 DSC00248

DSC00249 DSC00250

DSC00251 DSC00253

DSC00256 DSC00257

DSC00258 DSC00259